The committee and their interests

The committee

Dame Caroline Swift, Chair of the Committee

Dame Caroline Swift was called to the Bar in 1977 and practised as a barrister on the Northern Circuit, with Chambers in Manchester.

She was appointed Queen’s Counsel in 1993, specialising in complex medico-legal cases.

She was Leading Counsel to the Shipman Inquiry, between 2001 and 2005. In 2005, Dame Caroline was appointed as a Judge of the High Court, Queen’s Bench Division. She was invested as a Dame of the British Empire upon her appointment. She then presided over a wide variety of cases in the civil, criminal and administrative Courts and in the Court of Appeal Criminal Division.

From 2006 until her retirement in 2015 she was the Judge in charge of the British Coal Respiratory Disease Litigation. A group action involving over half a million claims. Between 2012 and 2014 she was the Judicial College Director of Civil Training. She had responsibility for the training in civil work of Judges at all levels in England and Wales.

Joy Hamilton, Committee member

Joy practised as a nurse in intensive care medicine from 1976- 2005. She originally qualified in Bern, Switzerland, where she worked until 1980. She later worked in Belfast, Leeds and Newcastle-upon-Tyne.

She read law at Northumbria University, completing an LLB in 2008 and a BVC in 2009.

She has been a magistrate since 1996 and is currently chairman of north east region Magistrates Leadership Executive. She is also deputy chair of the National Magistrates Leadership Executive.

Joy has been an MPTS tribunal member since 2012 and a chair since 2013.

Professor Jacky Hayden, Committee member

Jacky began her career in General Practice before moving into medical education. She was appointed Regional Adviser in General Practice in 1991 and Postgraduate Dean in 1997 at North Manchester General Hospital. Jacky retired as the Postgraduate Dean in September 2016. She continues to hold honorary positions in both Manchester and Lancaster Universities.

She was a member of the Council of the Royal College of General Practitioners for 26 years and held a range of different positions. She was honoured with the William Pickles award in 2002 and the Foundation Council Award in 2013.

She's a member of the Council of the Academy of Medical Educators and President Elect. She was awarded honorary fellowship of Academy of Medical Educators in 2012.

She has had a long standing interest in the development of leadership in the medical profession. From its start she has been a member of the Faculty of Medical Leadership and Management. She is currently a member of the Council and is Chair of the North of England Region.

Judith Worthington, Committee member

Judith’s professional background and early career was in education. She’s recently worked in the professional regulation and healthcare sectors.

She has been a magistrate, chairing adult and family courts, a council member of the General Pharmaceutical Council, GMC Council member and fitness to practise panel chair. 

She is Chair of student fitness to practise committee at Leicester Medical School, vice chair at University Hospitals of Leicester NHS Trust and a member of Lord Chancellor’s judicial appointments panels. 

Dr Patricia Moultrie, Committee member

Patricia has been a GP since 1988 and is currently a Sessional General Practitioner. She is also Medical Director of Glasgow Local Medical Committee and Medical Secretary of NHS Greater Glasgow and Clyde GP Subcommittee.

Patricia is a Fellow of the Royal College of General Practitioners.

She is Deputy Chair of the Scottish General Practitioners Committee of the British Medical Association.

Patricia is a member of Social Security and War Pension and Armed Forces Compensation Chambers HMCTS and Pensions Appeal Tribunal Scotland.    

She is also a Trustee of the Bridges Programmes and a current interim orders tribunal member and chair.

The committee’s interests